You are taller in the morning than you are at night…

In real life, there is a significant difference in height from when you first get out of bed to when you lay your head on the pillow at the end of the day.  I certainly never felt shorter at the end of the day, just tired.  Apparently having gravity pull down on you all day has a very tangible effect, depending on your height; there can be a difference of an inch!  I think the same can be said about draining relationships.

I absolutely love and adore my two kids, but, especially when they were infants, I was completely exhausted by the end of the day – physically and emotionally!  Don’t get me wrong, I would happily walk around as the world’s shortest person rather than trade a minute of time with them but it does take its toll.  Feel free to count the wrinkles and gray hair if you don’t believe me.

But having the gravity of an arduous relationship pushing down on you every day is much more devious.  You have no idea how much you’ve shrunk until you get the chance to lay down.  You have no idea just how eroded your self esteem, self worth, and soul are until you wake up. 

I may still be dreaming, but I feel taller already.

Leave a Reply

